Month Five of Marriage: Thoughts, Joys, & Waiting

In one day, B and I will have been married for five months; a dozen times a dozen days marked by sleeping side by side, trips to the grocery store (we ran out of eggs again?), cold morning drives to work, and a string of firsts both wonderful and challenging. Turns out we spend money differently, have contrasting visions for the apartment, and, well, are true opposites in most respects. Good thing we’re crazy about each other.

Brightening these days and weeks have been frequent dinner dates with our favorite couple, Hope and Jesse; weekend mornings letting Audrey channel her inner-wolf at the dog park; the occasional night on the town; exploring new eats in the Twin cities, and precious time at home with our families. Does this all seem leisurely and simple? I would agree, and I’ve been so thankful for these laid back days of newlywed life.

More recently, our schedules have taken a chaotic turn as I’ve started serving full time in Uptown, working evenings, weekends, and frequent fourteen hour shifts. No longer living entirely off The Bank of Brady and making a first dent in my student loans is empowering, but I’m still on the heels of that infamous ‘real job.’

I think more than anything, in this life-after-college-just-married stage, we’re still sorting out where we ‘fit.’ We want to build our careers, but also sort out where God wants us to live. Sometimes it feels like Minneapolis, but lately, it’s feeling further away. After lots of prayer, Brady recently turned down a job offer in Michigan, but after deciding to stay in the Twin Cities, is now being interviewed for positions in Utah and South Carolina…I know we’re right where God wants us to be, but my impatience so often gets the best of me.

What else keeps my heart beating fast? Mainly these simple pleasures:

Banana chocolate chip cookies

Banana chocolate chip cookies

My baby Audrey

My baby Audrey

Macaroons please

Macaroons please

Brady's Valentine present

Brady’s Valentine present

Minneapolis street art

Minneapolis street art

Mr & Mrs

Mr & Mrs

My gorgeous friends

My gorgeous friends

Coop as Superman

Coop as Superman

Hanging with the boys

Hanging with the boys

Bread & cheeseBread & cheese

God is good and I am blessed, blessed, blessed.

Leave a Reply

