Why Looking Back Is Good For You

photo courtesy of The Sartoralist

photo courtesy of The Sartoralist

What kind of music do you listen to when feeling angst-y or restless? For me it depends on the time of day, the weather, whether I’m at home or on the road, among other things, but today Indigo Girls seemed to fit. My sister Maria introduced me to IG when we lived together for a time in college and listening to Ghost or Case of You brings me back to our our hot-in-the-summer and freezing-cold-in-the-winter brownstone (in Fargo, North Dakota, no less!). And, apparently, feeling nostalgic is actually quite good for us.

Sometimes, particularly after copious hours in a grey office on a grey day, I think back to my year in England or to last summer when the excitement of wedding planning was everything and this, according to new academic research, can actually make us feel better. According to the research, much of it done by Dr Clay Routeledge of North Dakota State University (Go Bison!), reflecting  is healthy because it makes us aware of how rich and various are lives actually are.

Baking never hurt either and tonight after work I think I’ll bake Brady a cake.

Thanks for reading:)

Em

4 thoughts on “Why Looking Back Is Good For You

  1. I miss you. I want to just hang out for a whole day, reading in coffee shops, walking around pretty parks, talking, crying, laughing. When can we possibly arrange this heavenly day?!

Leave a Reply

