My Favorite Decorating Tip of All Time

Have any of you noticed when browsing through design magazines, watching HGTV or flipping through décor books, that books are always a prominent feature? I’ve long had a filled to overflowing bookshelf or stack of books piled here and there, but it hasn’t really struck me until recently just how important books are to a space.

I’ve been a life-long lover of books and one of my earliest memories is of my Mom, an English teacher, taking my older sister and me to the local Moorhead Public Library. One of my most recent—and favorite—adventures of all time was crossing the pond to earn my masters in English literature in, where else, but the home of Jane Austen.

Naturally, my novel collection has grown decidedly through the years…beginning with Little House in the Big Woods (still a dear favorite!) to incorporating Duncan Wu’s Anthology of English Romanticism; fondly dubbed the ‘mothership’ in grad. school.  While it hasn’t always been easy moving this weight from apartment to apartment, it’s always been worth it.

Not only do they instantly make a space feel cosy and lived-in, but they are a great way to personalize a room on the cheap. These photos prove it:

photo courtesy of Great Images

photo courtesy of Great Images

 

photo courtesy of Blood and Champagne

photo courtesy of Blood and Champagne

photo courtesy of My Ideal Home

photo courtesy of My Ideal Home

And my all time favorite this-will-be-in-my-home-someday-look:

 

photo courtesy of Blissful Blog

photo courtesy of Blissful Blog

 

Do you decorate with books? Read any good books this year?!:) I’m always looking for new suggestions! Xo E.

One thought on “My Favorite Decorating Tip of All Time

  1. Pingback: Our New Nightime Ritual | Off the Shelf

Leave a Reply

