What Do You Appreciate About Your Work-week Routine?

I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t know how working moms do it. Between getting ready for work, taking Audrey out, grabbing a quick breakfast, dealing with traffic for nearly an hour, working, dealing with traffic for another hour—you get the idea—that by the time I’m finally home, I am spent.

And Brady and I don’t have kids!

Because the work week is so hectic, I’m trying to make a conscious effort to appreciate little pleasures hidden in my everyday routine. With this mindset, it didn’t take long to realize that taking Audrey, our little Scottie, out before and after work and before our little apartment calls it a night, is a routine I’ve come to enjoy.

Image

Yes, I’ll likely change my mind once Minnesota freezes over this winter, but for now, it’s been really nice. When I step out into the cool morning air, our neighborhood is quiet and Audrey’s excitement to take in as many sights and smells (primarily smells) as possible in these ten minutes is sometimes infectious.

When I return home at the end of the day, usually starving and nagging myself to get to the gym, the ten minutes Audrey and I spend walking around the block provides time to decompress and think about what’s most important for the evening.

Some nights before bed, particularly if I have my nose in a good book, I make B take Audrey out, but the task still mostly falls to me.  We walk down the steps, Audrey as thrilled as ever for the scents to come, and when we step outside it’s calming to look up at the dark sky and say goodnight.

Maybe someday we’ll have a fenced in yard and our routine will change, but for now, taking Audrey out is one of my favorite parts of my week-work routine. What’s yours?

Xo, E.

2 thoughts on “What Do You Appreciate About Your Work-week Routine?

  1. Sounds like a great part of day for you. Sometimes you just need some time to get out and think. I must be one of the only people in the world to say this, but the best part of my work-week routine is definitely my commute. I’m very lucky to have just a 20 minute walk around Lake Geneva for my journey, but it’s not the scenery I enjoy the most. It’s the time to be completely on my own and with my thoughts. It’s when I do my best thinking, and I couldn’t be without that.

    Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my blog, it’s much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

