Do You Like Jane Austen?

pink booksSorry for not writing yesterday, everyone! It was the first sick day I took in a long time–not to mention the sickest I’ve felt in quite awhile. I’m so thankful to be feeling better today and wanted to share you with a little news about the Jane Austen Society of North America. Did you know that the annual conference is being held here in Minneapolis this year? Unfortunately, neither did I! Until yesterday. If you like, you can listen to an interesting conversation about Jane Austen here.

I’ve read all of Jane Austen’s novels, but it really wasn’t until this past year that I started fully appreciating her work. During my year in Bristol, I was a mere ten minute train ride from Bath–the place to see and be seen during Austen’s time–and exploring this city made me appreciate Jane even more.

Inside the Jane Austen Centre in Bath, England

Inside the Jane Austen Centre in Bath, England

Austen actually hated Bath and the social status it stood for. While I used to find her work somehow stiff or too pretty,  her work is truly a brilliant commentary on the social system of eighteenth century England. Not only that, but has anyone else ever created such unforgettable characters as Mr. Collins, Mrs. Bennett and Lady Bertram, to name a few?

Outside of The Pump Room, mentioned several times in Mansfield Park

Outside of The Pump Room, mentioned several times in Mansfield Park

My favorite Austen novel is Sense and Sensibility and the 1995 film adaption with Hugh Grant and Kate Winslet is the only movie I can watch again and again.

Do you like Jane Austen? Why do you think so many people do? Is it because we’re all just hoping for our Mr. Darcy?

xo, E

2 thoughts on “Do You Like Jane Austen?

Leave a Reply

