2014 Book List

books
Last January, fresh out of grad school and  through with assigned reading lists, I experienced what might be called a giddy rush of joy. Being able to read whatever I wanted was the greatest luxury and it was with great excitement that I penned my very own 2013 reading list. To my greater excitement, I actually made it through the majority of my list, making it high time for a new list of delicious reads.

I’m nearly finished with The Secret History by Donna Tartt–an unexpectedly dark murder story of sorts–and I’m looking forward to cracking open a few new titles. With classes starting next week (yes, I’m going back to school for the third time), I’m not sure how much time I’ll have for pleasure reading, but these are the titles on my list so far: 

Writing Down the Bones: My sister gave me this novel for Christmas and it’s honestly the best book I’ve read on how to be a writer. I’m half-ways done, but I think this will be a book I open again and again.

The King’s General: I’ve long loved Daphne du Maurier, but had never read (or heard) of this less publicized novel. Fortunately, a lovely friend recently brought it to my attention and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Walden: I read excerpts of this famed work of Thoreau in high school, but the idea of seeking solace and simplicity seems more relevant than ever in my life.

Grace: A Memoir: I admire creative people and this memoir of Vogue creative director, Grace Coddington, is certain to inspire.

Life After Life: I first discovered Kate Atkinson in Bristol with her wildly wonderful debut novel Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Discovering her most recent novel in the bookstore was an unexpected delight akin to the first sip of the very best hot chocolate.

Longbourne: Pride and Prejudice may not be my most favorite Austen  novel, but if Jo Baker’s characters–that is the servants of the Bennet household–are anywhere near as sharp and human as Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet, Longbourne will become a new favorite.

Brideshead Revisited: Ashleigh discussed Evelyn Waugh’s masterpiece at length in her dissertation, and I’ve been meaning to read it ever since.

Sweet Tooth: I’ve yet to read anything by Ian McEwan and I’m looking forward to changing that truth this year with his most latest novel, a cold war espionage thriller.

What will you be reading in 2014? I’m also hoping to reread Jane Eyre (it’s been too long, reader!) and more D.H. Lawrence along with getting my hands on some relevant teaching books. Any recommendations are most welcome!

4 thoughts on “2014 Book List

Leave a Reply

