Your Life in Six Words

writeI started a creative writing class a couple weeks ago, which has been exhilarating and scary, and this week’s assignment really got me thinking. In the class we’re focusing on “flash fiction,” or the art of writing as succinctly as possible (Hemingway was a master of this). As part of the assignment we had to write a story in 50 words or less, but what was even more challenging was writing our own story in exactly six words.

Here are some examples we were given from Smith Magazine:

“Saw the sky and started walking.” -Mark Sundeen

“Youngest of four girls turns fifty.” Judi Kolenda

“Partied a ton, then had kids.” -Paul Tallis

“Wasn’t born a redhead; fixed that.” -Andie Grace

“Naively expected logical world. Acted foolish.” -Emily Thieler

“Sexy single; married not so much.” -Vicki Botnick

Interesting, eh? I’m still not sure which six word memoir I’ll share in class tonight, but here are a few fragments I composed last night:

“New wife occasionally cries and laughs.”

“Newly married, has questions, will travel.”

“Introvert seeks full-time adventure, part-time job.”

Or in the words of my loving husband:

“Gold digger, collects Scotties, seeks retirement.”

Thanks, Brady. What are your six words? I’d love to know. X, Em

11 thoughts on “Your Life in Six Words

  1. Hahahahahaha — Brady makes me laugh!!!
    I like the introvert seeking full time adventure, part time job one 🙂
    I have no idea what I’d say in 6 words!! Hmmm… “Learning Trust, living hard, loving hopefully…”

Leave a Reply

